Gold Coast Arts Center Annual Gala

Each year, the Gold Coast Arts Center hosts a star-studded gala benefit honoring accomplished visual and performing artists and individuals from the worlds of business, public service, journalism, finance, architecture, philanthropy, and education for their demonstrated excellence and their commitment to the Arts. The gala is the Arts Center’s biggest fundraiser of the year and supports the yearound operations of our School for the Arts, Scholarship Program, and Outreach Program, which serves thousands of students in the region.
Among the artists who have been singled out for awards are:

  • Pulitzer Prize and Kennedy Center Award winning composer/conductor Morton Gould
  • Legendary filmmaker Francis Ford Coppola
  • Actor Paul Sorvino
  • Artists Larry Rivers, James Rosenquist, and Lou Dorfsman
  • Internationally renowned sculptor Edwina Sandys
  • Rock ‘N Roll Hall of Fame photographer Bob Gruen and Lovin’ Spoonful musician Joe Butler
  • Jazz great trombonist Al Grey
  • Comedian Susie Essman
  • Dancer Savion Glover and jazz singer Yvette Glover
  • Legendary fashion designer Oleg Cassini
  • Broadway leading lady and Tony Award winner Kelli O’Hara
  • Bestselling author Nelson DeMille
  • Four-time Oscar-winning production and costume designer Catherine Martin

Past Gala Honorees

The Gold Coast Arts Center is proud to recognize the many exceptional individuals who have been honored at our past annual galas.

Gala 2015
Vince Giordano – Artist of Distinction, Music
Navid Negahban – Artist of Distinction, Film
Patricia Riggen – Woman of Influence Award
Gala 2014
Michael Glickman – Man of the Year
Catherine Martin – Artist of Distinction
Marie Cecile Flageul & Jonathan Cohen, known as Meres One – Art & Activism Award
Gala 2013
The Mindel Family and Samar Hospitality – Honorary Founders Award
Susie Essman – Artist of Distinction: Comedy
Paul Sorvino – Lifetime Achievement Award
Gala 2012
Michael Lamoretti – Man of the Year
Nelson DeMille – Gold Coast Legend
Hon. Gary Ackerman – Honorary Founders Award
KT Sullivan – Artist of Distinction: Music
Gala 2011
Terri Carr Muran
Bill Plympton – Artist of Distinction
Alexa Ray Joel – Rising Star
Gala 2010
Judi Bosworth, Nassau County Legislator
Jerry Sloane
Dohn Samuel Schildkraut
James Rosenquist – Lifetime Achievement Award
Melissa Errico – Artist of Distinction
Gala 2009
Michelle Schimel, New York State Assemblywoman
Hon. J. Leonard Samansky*, Mayor
Diana and Jeffrey Phillips
Trent Kowalik – Artist of Distinction
Gala 2008
Gary Ackerman, United States Congressman
Regina Keller Gil
Joseph Gil
Kelli O’Hara – Artist of Distinction
Gala 2007
Roger & Jerry Tilles, Hana & Ellie
Robert & Phoebe Lewis
Edwina Sandys – Artist of Distinction
Bob Gruen – Artist of Distinction
Gala 2006
Jeffrey S. Wiesenfeld
Jon Kaiman, Town of North Hempstead Supervisor
Lore Kent
Alex Wagman – Artist of Distinction
Stan Goldberg – Artist of Distinction
Gala 2005
Raine Silverstein
Frank Lalezarian
Marc Katz
Ronni Berger
Oleg Cassini – Artist of Distinction
Lissy Dennett – Artist of Distinction
Gala 2004
Angela Anton
Tom DiNapoli, New York State Assemblyman
Michael Balboni, New York State Senator
Howard Goldberg – Artist of Distinction
Gala 2003
Albert Nassim
Jeffrey L. Bass
Judy Amsel – Artist of Distinction
Gala 2002
Morris Levy
Richard Arenella
Joe Butler – Artist of Distinction
Savion Glover – Artist of Distinction
Yvette Glover – Artist of Distinction
Gala 2001
Ronni Davidowitz, Rosenman & Collin LLP
Jan & Michael Wallace
Alexander Bernstein – Artist of Distinction
Lou Dorfsman – Artist of Distinction
Gala 2000
Mark Stumer
Michele & Ralph Heiman
Doris Weinstein*
Larry Rivers* – Artist of Distinction
Gala 1999
Robert Rosegarten
Al Grey* – Artist of Distinction
Gala 1998
Victoria Benalloul
Fran Badalamente
Giancarlo Impiglia – Artist of Distinction
Gala 1997
Francis Ford Coppola – Artist of Distinction
James Rosenquist – Artist of Distinction
Gala 1996
Shirley Romaine – Artist of Distinction

Gala 1995
Morton Gould – Artist of Distinction